Description of IR Residency

There are three potential IR pathways:

Integrated Emory IR Residency:

The IR-I residency is composed of an internship and five years of IR training. Training is identical to the diagnostic radiology (DR) training for the first three years. In the PGY-5, IRI-4 year, training becomes concentrated in the clinical and procedural aspects of IR practice. Clinical rotations in the IRI-4 year include vascular surgery, transplant hepatology, surgical ICU, critical care/pulmonary ICU, medical oncology and medical consultation services. The remainder of the IRI-4 year is dedicated to Interventional Radiology rotations and the completion of any remaining requirements to sit for the DR boards. The IRI-5 year is a concentrated year of procedural IR with emphasis on providing excellent longitudinal patient care.

Independent Emory IR Residency:

We have been approved for the Independent IR Residency. The training is equivalent to the R4 and R5 years of the integrated program. It is possible to enter the Independent residency at an advanced entry into the 2nd year if the resident qualifies as ESIR.

Early Specialization in Interventional Radiology (ESIR):

ACGME has stipulated that residents may enter the Independent program at the advanced (PGY7) level if they completed a DR residency in a program qualified to provide experience during the DR residency that qualifies them for this advanced placement. Emory University Diagnostic Radiology Program has received and been approved for the ESIR Designation.

Can I see the IR residency program requirements?

The approved IR residency program requirements are posted on the ACGME website:

IR/DR certification:

Graduates of an IR residency qualify to take the IR/DR examination offered by the American Board of Radiology (ABR). The IR/DR certificate recognizes competency in both diagnostic radiology and interventional radiology. Certificate holders can practice both diagnostic radiology and interventional radiology.